Lawyer Handling MVA Hearings in Maryland

If you have been arrested for a DUI in Maryland, you may also face the loss of your driver's license. If your privilege to drive is revoked or suspended, it can become very difficult to get to work, school and to attend alcohol education classes. Defending your driving privileges doesn't just happen in criminal court, it is also important to attend and have representation at the MVA hearings.

Protect Your Driver's License. Call Me at 877-695-1576 Today.

I am Baltimore DUI defense attorney Charles L. Waechter, and for more than 30 years, it has been my job to fight for rights of my clients. I have four convenient office locations in Baltimore, Annapolis, Ocean City and Bel Air, and offer a free initial consultation in the office or by phone. Do not hesitate to schedule a free consultation with me to discuss your situation.

DWI Defense Attorney Representing Clients in Maryland License Suspension Hearings

The Maryland driver's license suspension process is separate from the criminal DUI process. You typically have 10 days to request a hearing with the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). At the hearing, an experienced MVA hearing attorney serving Maryland can raise issues, present defenses, or suggest options that may help to eliminate or reduce the time that your driving privileges are suspended.

When you obtain a driver's license from the state, you agree to certain regulations and laws. When it comes to drinking and driving, you agree that if you are pulled over by an officer and you are suspected of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you agree that you will take a BAC, or blood alcohol concentration, test. If you do not agree to the test, your license is automatically suspended for 120 days.

If the results of the test show a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or more, a driver is considered legally intoxicated. If your Breathalyzer test was under .08, your license generally will not be suspended. If, however, the result of your test was between .08 and .14, you will be able to make a request that your suspension be modified. In the event the test was .15 or more, you will be required to install and pay for an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.

In addition, the MVA has the authority to impose additional penalties, including:

  • First offense: a 45-day license suspension
  • Second offense: a 90-day license suspension
  • Certain cases may allow for a total loss of driving privileges

In some cases, the MVA can impose these penalties even in cases where the criminal court dismisses the case or you are found not guilty of a DUI or DWI. Understanding the interaction between the criminal court penalties and MVA penalties can be confusing. Call my office for a free consultation so that you can begin understanding how I may be able to help you reduce or eliminate these administrative penalties or help arrange for a DUI temporary license.

If you have been arrested for a DUI, contact me, Maryland criminal defense lawyer Charles L. Waechter, to schedule a consultation at your earliest convenience.