You know you’re not supposed to drive with a suspended license, but you need to get somewhere and no one else can drive you. You decide to risk it, but get pulled over by a Maryland cop. What happens now?
If you are caught driving on a suspended or revoked license, you’ll receive one of three types of tickets:
- Driving while your license is suspended generally
- Driving while your license is suspended on a specific provision of state law
- Driving with a suspension from another state
No matter what type of ticket is issued, getting caught driving on a suspended license is a serious offense in Maryland. As such, you will be compelled to appear in court before the judge. There’s no way to get out of this by paying a fine.
If the judge finds you guilty, you may receive as much as 60 days in jail or a $500 fine if your driving privileges are suspended under certain provisions of state law. If you received a different type of driving citation, you face up to one year in jail or a fine of $1,000.
Along with receiving jail time or being fined, you’ll get points on your license: 3 points for the lesser violation and 12 points for the more serious violations.
What should you do if you get caught driving without a license?
Maryland drivers can get license suspensions for several reasons. Some have outstanding child support that was not paid. Others never paid speeding tickets or contested the original citation in court. If your license is suspended, it remains suspended until you correct the original problem.
Once you get caught with a suspended license, you must face the old charges. Pay the original traffic ticket or back due child support money. Once you can prove you’ve done this, you can petition to have the suspension removed.
You should also reach out to a Maryland attorney who works with traffic and licensing violations. Tell the attorney what happened, then listen to their advice regarding your best options for handling the driving while suspended charge in court.
You may be able to contest the charges if you did not know of the original suspension or believe the police officer had no probable cause for the traffic stop. An attorney can reduce your charges, defeat your charges or find the best solution to your situation.